- 

- 

June 2020  Report from Dhulikhel Hospital 

 

Corona-virus now also in Nepal. 
As you can see in the following report from Dhulikhel Hospital, the laboratory is overloaded with the only PCR device purchased from NepaliMed Luxembourg. For this reason, we will buy a second
equipment in an urgent procedure. 

august 2020 

Dear friends of Nepal, 

 

Mesdames, Messieurs, 

 

We hope that all is well with you, despite the problems posed by the health situation. It affects everyone, many families are in mourning and are lamenting the loss of one of their members, others are frightened of losing their jobs and the future of many businesses is very uncertain. 

 

Our association is also suffering from the consequences of the pandemic ; there are more and more cancellations, for example of our general assembly, the meal which normally follows the assembly, all events such as bazaars etc, and the loss of revenue caused by the cancellations of events is considerable. Below I set out the struggle which our partner in Nepal is facing every day and you will see that they need our support more than ever. 

 

Therefore I call upon your solidarity and request that you continue to support us. Let’s work together, all of us, and we shall turn the tide. 

I thank you for your generosity, please take care and, bleift gesond. 

 

 

Namaste, 

Last summer I was lucky enough to rediscover Nepal after an absence of 6 years. Meeting people again, emotions, tears and laughter were the features of my first visit since the earthquakes of 2015, and I could see that the scars were still very visible. I experienced the satisfaction of seeing the progress at Dhulikhel hospital and the disappointment of seeing whole villages still in ruins. 

The embarrassment when the head nurse of the operating theatre thanked me again and again for the equipment purchased and the consternation in the laboratory when one of the machines we sent no longer worked because of a lack of vials. 

The astonishment at seeing so many patients and the surprise on learning that 1 200 people visit every day. The disappointment at not being able to visit the new hospital at Dolakha which Nepalimed financed because of the condition of the roads due to the monsoon. 

 

The happiness of seeing Nepal through the eyes of my 6-year old grandson, an unforgettable experience. 

Road between Dhulikhel and the district of Dolakha during the monsoon

In March we received a first email with news of the pandemic in Nepal. There is a lack of everything: protective clothing, masks, testing kit. The hospital received 600 testing kits for around 2 million people. The government manages the purchases for the whole country, the numbers of infected and deaths communicated are not correct. Doctor Roshan Kumar Mahato was in Dolakha in “our” hospital when the confinement was introduced and had to stay there, his wife works practically day and night in the laboratory of the hospital at Dhulikhel. The guidelines of the WHO are strictly adhered to, administrative staff are teleworking, a part of the hospital is reserved for those with infections. 

At the end of March there was a call for help : a second PCR (Polymerase chain reaction) machine for the analysis of tests was required. The hospital has been designated as a platform for the emergency healthcare services by the Ministry of Health and Population and the requests for tests for the detection of the new virus arrive from the whole country. NepaliMed Luxembourg financed this PCR machine as a matter of urgency with a total cost of 32 520,00 €. 

Fever control at Dholakha Hospital

Possibility to wash one’s hands

Finally, we received some good news: 

At the end of 2019 Dholakha hospital entered into service. 

A big thank you to you all who enabled an investment on the ground of 687 301,52 € over 3 years. 

Staff basic training

Dental service

Electrocardiogram

Radiant heat apparatus

Rooms

Our project enabled the purchase of material in 2019 to the value of 323 106,92 € including inter alia: a mobile x-ray machine, a Holium Laser, a neo-natal Ventilator, a transportable incubator for newborns etc. 

 

Our 2020 draft budget for the purchse of material is in preparation and foresees the purchase of equipment for the new Dholakha Hospital for a total cost of around 360 000,00 €.

- 

- 

Juni 2020 

Corona-Virus jetzt auch in Nepal. 
Wie Sie im folgenden Bericht vom Dhulikhel Hospital feststellen ist das Laboratorium mit dem einzigen PCR Gerät, das von NepaliMed Luxemburg gekauft wurde, überlastet. Aus diesem Grunde werden wir im Eilverfahren ein zweites Gerät kaufen. 

Bericht vom Dhulikhel Hospital 

August 2020 

Liebe Freunde von Nepal, 

 

Mein Damen, meine Herren, 

 

Wir hoffen, dass es Ihnen trotz aller durch die Gesundheitssituation verursachten Probleme gut geht. Jedermann ist betroffen, viele Familien trauern um einen ihrer Angehörigen, andere haben Angst, ihren Arbeitsplatz zu verlieren, und die Zukunft vieler Unternehmen ist sehr ungewiss. 

 

Auch unsere Organisation leidet unter den Folgen der Pandemie; die Stornierungen häufen sich, unsere Generalversammlung, das Essen nach der Versammlung, alle Veranstaltungen wie Märkte usw. und der Einnahmeausfall aufgrund der Absage von Veranstaltungen ist sehr groß. Auf den folgenden Seiten werde ich Ihnen über den Kampf unseres Partners in Nepal Tag für Tag berichten, und Sie werden sehen, dass sie unsere Unterstützung mehr denn je benötigen. 

 

Ich rufe daher zu Ihrer Solidarität auf und bitte Sie um Ihre weitere Unterstützung. Lassen Sie uns zusammenarbeiten, gemeinsam kommen wir wieder auf Kurs. 

Ich danke Ihnen im Voraus für Ihre Großzügigkeit, passen Sie auf sich auf. bleift gesond. 

 

 

Namaste, 

Letzten Sommer hatte ich die Gelegenheit, nach 6 Jahren Abwesenheit nach Nepal zurückzukehren. Wiedersehen, Emotionen, Tränen und Lachen bei meinem ersten Besuch nach den Erdbeben im Jahr 2015, mir wurde klar dass die Narben noch sehr sichtbar sind. Die Genugtuung über den Fortschritt des Krankenhauses in Dhulikhel und die Enttäuschung über die Entdeckung ganzer Dörfer, die noch immer zerstört sind. 

 

Verlegenheit, wenn sich die Oberschwester im Operationssaal immer wieder für die gekauften Geräte bedankt, und Bestürzung im Labor, wenn eines der eingesandten Geräte wegen fehlender Fläschchen nicht funktioniert. 

Das Erstaunen, Massen von Patienten zu sehen, und die Überraschung zu erfahren dass 1 200 Personen täglich die Dienste des Krankenhauses in Anspruch nehmen. Die Enttäuschung, das neue Krankenhaus, das NepaliMed in Dolakha finanziert hat, wegen der Monsun-Straßenverhältnisse nicht besuchen zu können. 

Die Freude, Nepal mit den Augen meines 6-jährigen Enkels zu sehen, eine unvergessliche Erfahrung. 

Straße zwischen Dhulikhel und dem Distrikt Dolakha während der Monsunzeit.

Im März erhielten wir eine erste E-Mail mit Informationen über die Pandemie in Nepal. Es fehlt alles: Schutzkleidung, Masken, Tests, das Krankenhaus erhielt 600 Test-Kits für einen Zustrom von etwa 2 000 000 Menschen. Die Regierung verwaltet die Beschaffung für das ganze Land, die Zahlen der Infizierten und der gemeldeten Todesfälle sind nicht korrekt. Dr. Roshan Kumar Mahato war in Dolakha in "unserem" Krankenhaus, als die Ausgangsperre verordnet wurde, und musste dort bleiben, seine Frau arbeitet praktisch Tag und Nacht im Krankenhauslabor in Dhulikhel. Die Anweisungen der Weltgesundheitsagentur werden strikt befolgt, die Verwaltungsangestellten sind in Telearbeit, ein Teil des Krankenhauses ist für Infektionen reserviert. 

Ende März gab es dann einen Hilferuf: ein zweites PCR-Gerät (Polmerase chain reaction = Polymerase-Kettenreaktion) für die Auswertung der Tests wird benötigt. Das Krankenhaus wird vom Ministerium für Gesundheit und Bevölkerung als Plattform für dringende Gesundheitsdienste bezeichnet, und aus dem ganzen Land kommen Anfragen für Tests auf das neue Virus. Da dringend ein zweites PCR-Gerät benötigt wurde hat NepaliMed Luxemburg dieses Gerät für insgesamt 32 520,00 € finanziert. 

Fieberkontrolle vor dem Dholakha Hospital

Möglichkeit zum Händewaschen

Und schließlich haben wir gute Nachrichten erhalten: 

Ende 2019 wurde das Krankenhaus in Dholakha in Betrieb genommen. 

Ein großes Dankeschön an alle, die eine Investition von 687 301,52 Euro über 3 Jahre ermöglicht haben. 

Basis Ausbildung vom Personal

Zahnärztlicher Dienst

Elektrokardiogramm

Wärmestrahlungsgerät

Zimmer

Unser Projekt zur Anschaffung von Geräten im Jahr 2019 für einen Betrag von 323 106,92 € umfasste unter anderem: Mobiles Röntgengerät, Holium-Laser, Beatmungsgerät für Neugeborene, transportabler Babyinkubator usw. 

Unser neues Ausrüstungsprojekt 2020, in Vorbereitung, sieht den Kauf von Ausrüstungen für das neue Krankenhaus Dolakha für einen Gesamtbetrag von etwa 360 000,00 € vor.