- 

- 

June 2020  Report from Dhulikhel Hospital 

 

Corona-virus now also in Nepal. 
As you can see in the following report from Dhulikhel Hospital, the laboratory is overloaded with the only PCR device purchased from NepaliMed Luxembourg. For this reason, we will buy a second
equipment in an urgent procedure. 

august 2020 

Dear friends of Nepal, 

 

Mesdames, Messieurs, 

 

We hope that all is well with you, despite the problems posed by the health situation. It affects everyone, many families are in mourning and are lamenting the loss of one of their members, others are frightened of losing their jobs and the future of many businesses is very uncertain. 

 

Our association is also suffering from the consequences of the pandemic ; there are more and more cancellations, for example of our general assembly, the meal which normally follows the assembly, all events such as bazaars etc, and the loss of revenue caused by the cancellations of events is considerable. Below I set out the struggle which our partner in Nepal is facing every day and you will see that they need our support more than ever. 

 

Therefore I call upon your solidarity and request that you continue to support us. Let’s work together, all of us, and we shall turn the tide. 

I thank you for your generosity, please take care and, bleift gesond. 

 

 

Namaste, 

Last summer I was lucky enough to rediscover Nepal after an absence of 6 years. Meeting people again, emotions, tears and laughter were the features of my first visit since the earthquakes of 2015, and I could see that the scars were still very visible. I experienced the satisfaction of seeing the progress at Dhulikhel hospital and the disappointment of seeing whole villages still in ruins. 

The embarrassment when the head nurse of the operating theatre thanked me again and again for the equipment purchased and the consternation in the laboratory when one of the machines we sent no longer worked because of a lack of vials. 

The astonishment at seeing so many patients and the surprise on learning that 1 200 people visit every day. The disappointment at not being able to visit the new hospital at Dolakha which Nepalimed financed because of the condition of the roads due to the monsoon. 

 

The happiness of seeing Nepal through the eyes of my 6-year old grandson, an unforgettable experience. 

Road between Dhulikhel and the district of Dolakha during the monsoon

In March we received a first email with news of the pandemic in Nepal. There is a lack of everything: protective clothing, masks, testing kit. The hospital received 600 testing kits for around 2 million people. The government manages the purchases for the whole country, the numbers of infected and deaths communicated are not correct. Doctor Roshan Kumar Mahato was in Dolakha in “our” hospital when the confinement was introduced and had to stay there, his wife works practically day and night in the laboratory of the hospital at Dhulikhel. The guidelines of the WHO are strictly adhered to, administrative staff are teleworking, a part of the hospital is reserved for those with infections. 

At the end of March there was a call for help : a second PCR (Polymerase chain reaction) machine for the analysis of tests was required. The hospital has been designated as a platform for the emergency healthcare services by the Ministry of Health and Population and the requests for tests for the detection of the new virus arrive from the whole country. NepaliMed Luxembourg financed this PCR machine as a matter of urgency with a total cost of 32 520,00 €. 

Fever control at Dholakha Hospital

Possibility to wash one’s hands

Finally, we received some good news: 

At the end of 2019 Dholakha hospital entered into service. 

A big thank you to you all who enabled an investment on the ground of 687 301,52 € over 3 years. 

Staff basic training

Dental service

Electrocardiogram

Radiant heat apparatus

Rooms

Our project enabled the purchase of material in 2019 to the value of 323 106,92 € including inter alia: a mobile x-ray machine, a Holium Laser, a neo-natal Ventilator, a transportable incubator for newborns etc. 

 

Our 2020 draft budget for the purchse of material is in preparation and foresees the purchase of equipment for the new Dholakha Hospital for a total cost of around 360 000,00 €.

- 

- 

juin 2020   rapport du Dhulikhel Hospital 

 

Le virus du Corona est aussi au Népal.  

Comme vous pouvez constater dans le rapport du Dhulikhel Hospital ci-dessus, le laboratoire équipé d’un seul appareil PCR, financé par NepaliMed Luxembourg, a des problèmes pour subvenir au besoin. Pour cette raison nous avons acheté pour la somme de 32 520 Euros en urgence un deuxième appareil avec accessoires. 

 

août 2020 

Chères amies, chers amis du Népal, 

 

Mesdames, Messieurs, 

 

Nous espérons que vous allez bien malgré tous les problèmes posés par la situation sanitaire. Tout le monde est concerné, beaucoup de familles sont en deuil et pleurent la disparition d’un des leurs, d’autres ont peur de perdre leurs emplois et l’avenir de nombreuses entreprises est très incertain. 

 

Notre association aussi souffre des conséquences de la pandémie ; les annulations s’accumulent, notre assemblée générale, le repas qui suivait l’assemblée, toutes les manifestations tel que marchés etc. et le manque à gagner suite à l’annulation des manifestations est très important. Sur les pages suivantes je vais vous parler du combat que mène notre partenaire au Népal jour après jour et vous allez constater qu’ils ont besoin de notre soutien plus que jamais. 

 

J’appelle donc à votre solidarité et je vous prie de bien vouloir continuer à nous soutenir. Réunissons nos efforts, tous ensemble nous réussirons à remonter la pente. 

Merci d’avance pour votre générosité, prenez soins de vous, bleift gesond. 

 

 

Namaste, 

L ’été dernier j’ai eu la chance de retrouver le Népal après 6 ans d’absence. Retrouvailles, émotions, des larmes et des rires pour ma première visite après les tremblements de terre en 2015, je me suis aperçue que les cicatrices étaient toujours bien visibles. La satisfaction de voir les progrès de l’hôpital à Dhulikhel et la déception de découvrir des villages entiers encore détruits. 

 

L’embarras quand l’infirmière en chef du bloc opératoire n’en finit plus de nous remercier pour les appareils achetés et la consternation dans le laboratoire quand une des machines envoyées ne fonctionne pas à cause d’un manque de fioles. 

L’étonnement de voir des masses de patients et la surprise d’apprendre que 1 200 personnes viennent en visite chaque jour. La déception de ne pas pouvoir aller visiter le nouvel hôpital que NepaliMed a financé à Dolakha à cause de l’état des routes dû à la mousson. 

 

Le bonheur de voir le Népal avec les yeux de mon petit-fils de 6 ans, une expérience inoubliable. 

Route entre Dhulikhel et le district Dolakha pendant la mousson 

En mars nous avons reçu un premier mail avec des informations concernant la pandémie au Népal. Tout manque : vêtements de protection, masques, tests, l’hôpital a reçu 600 kits de tests pour une affluence d’environ 2 000 000 de personnes. Le gouvernement gère les achats pour tout le pays, les chiffres des infectés et des décès communiqués ne sont pas corrects. Docteur Roshan Kumar Mahato était à Dolakha dans « notre » hôpital quand le confinement était décrété et y a y dû rester, sa femme travaille pratiquement jour et nuit au laboratoire de l’hôpital à Dhulikhel. Les consignes de l’agence mondiale de la santé sont strictement respectées, les employés administratifs sont en télé travail, une partie de l’hôpital est réservée aux infections. 

Puis fin mars il y a eu un appel au secours : un deuxième appareil PCR (Polymerase chain reaction = réaction de polymérisation en chaîne) pour l’analyse des tests est nécessaire. L’hôpital est nommé plateforme pour les services de soins de santé urgents par le ministère de la santé et de la population et les demandes de tests de la détection du nouveau virus arrivent de tout le pays. NepaliMed Luxembourg a financé en urgence cet appareil PCR pour un total de 32 520,00 €. 

Contrôle de la fièvre au Dholakha Hospital 

Possibilité de se laver les mains

Et enfin nous avons reçu de bonnes nouvelles : 

Fin 2019 l’hôpital de Dholakha a été mis en service. 

Un grand merci à vous tous qui avez permis un investissement sur le terrain de 687 301,52 € sur 3 ans. 

Formation de base du personnel

Service dentaire

Electrocardiogramme

Dispositif à chaleur radiante

Chambres

Notre projet achat matériel 2019 pour un montant de 323 106,92 € comprenait entre autre : Rayon‑X mobile, Holium Laser, Ventilateur néonatale, Incubateur pour bébés transportable, etc. 

 

Notre nouveau projet matériel 2020 en préparation prévoit l’achat d’équipements pour le nouvel Dolakha Hospital pour un total d’environ 360 000,00 €.